Jörn Neumann wins 2WD A1 after a dramatic heat

Jörn Neumann wins 2WD A1 after a dramatic heat

januar 13, 2019 Slået fra Af Niklas Majgaard

If there is any english word that can describe the A1 Main in 2WD at DHI 2019, it has to be unpredictable. Setting off from pole position, David Ronnefalk only held the lead for one lap before rolling the car after an incident with P2 starter Jesper Rasmussen.

Rasmussen inherited the lead and kept it for some laps, while some strong opponents made their way from further down the field. Most notably, Marcus Kærup got off to an amazing start from tenth on the grid, quickly moving through to third, following Jörn Neumann in second place.

David Ronnefalk leading the way on lap 1.

Neumann had a great battle with Jesper Rasmussen for the lead, and eventually Neumann made the move – and made it stick as well.

Back down in second, Jesper Rasmussen had to defend hard against a charging Marcus Kærup. The two local drivers ended up running into each other on the final lap, initially handing Kærup second place, but Rasmussen took back second place at the next corner.

Jesper Rasmussen and Marcus Kærup battling for P2.

Over the line, Jörn Neumann won his first heat of the day, followed by Rasmussen and Kærup. Hampus Berg made it to 4th, followed by Karri Salmela and Wilhelm Skjöldebrand. Jessica Pålsson finished 7th, while Elias Johansson and Pelle Culmsee took 8th and 9th.

David Ronnefalk retired after six laps, ending up in 10th.

Pos Nr. Pilot Nr Pilot Laps Endtime Besttime Mediumtime
1 5 Jörn Neumann 17 5:01.048 17.720 18.058
2 2 Jesper Rasmussen 17 5:07.726 18.138 18.540
3 10 Marcus Kaerup 17 5:07.885 18.022 18.425
4 4 Hampus Berg 17 5:09.123 17.973 18.575
5 8 Karri Salmela 17 5:11.820 18.183 18.700
6 9 Wilhelm Skjöldebrand 17 5:12.208 18.118 18.640
7 6 Jessica Pålsson 17 5:14.144 18.414 18.778
8 3 Elias Johansson 16 5:01.389 17.997 19.313
9 7 Pelle Culmsee 16 5:03.512 17.839 19.155
10 1 David Ronnefalk 6 1:56.626 18.235 21.196